Our three favorite types of mochi

Posted: February 16, 2009 by Nathan Kam in Family & Friends
Tags: ,

img_09261

After smashing my right hand ring finger in the closet door tonight, it dawned on me that there’s three types of mochi in our family that we really enjoy…and not all of them are edible. If you had to read that first sentence again because it was such a bizarre transition, I’m blaming it on the pain in said right hand which is now turning into a black n’ blue swollen spectacle. Ouch!

But back to the blog post at hand. We really do have three kinds of mochi which we enjoy regularly. The most obvious type is the homemade kind pictured above which we make during New Years. The other two kinds? Well, read on.

img_2043

Meet Mochi the dog. He’s a handsome, long haired dachshund who belongs to Kelly’s sister Kim (and her boyfriend Glen). He’s a very sweet and loving dog who we always enjoy spending time with, especially Ensen.

img_6780

Now meet Mochi the cousin. Well, his real name is actually Grant, but we call him Mochi for fun. Why? I have no idea, we just do. He’s probably sweet and loving too like Mochi the dog and mochi the mochi, but I’m not jumping to any conclusions. ;-) JUST KIDDING CUZ! The one similarity Mochi the cousin does share with the others though is that he is enjoyable to be around.

So there you go. Our family’s three favorite kinds of mochi served up to you right her on the Kam Family Blog. So now I ask you…what’s your favorite type of mochi?

-NGK

Bookmark and Share

Comments
  1. Melissa says:

    Yes, that was a bizarre transition! Sorry to hear about your finger!!

    My favorite mochi depends on my mood. Maybe mochi cream?

  2. Sheila says:

    Cute post!

    Of the three mochi’s you’ve included in your post, my favorite would be the Dachshund. My love of Hawaii is rivaled only by my love of Dachshunds. :-) My parents have two doxies that we completely adore.

  3. Erin says:

    My absolute favorite mochi is the dark purple okinawan sweet potato mochi from Two Ladies Kitchen! Mmmm goodness!

Leave a Reply

