Eat This: Country and City Loaves by Breadshop’s Chris Sy

Posted: February 21, 2013 by Nathan Kam in Eating and Drinking, Oahu
Tags: , ,

20130221-220137.jpg

As I was preparing to write about local baker Christopher Sy’s incredible Breadshop sourdough breads (country loaf pictured above), it dawned on me that was a foolish idea. Why? Because my post would have said pretty much what HONOLULU Dining Editor Martha Cheng wrote in her detailed Biting Commentary column last year titled “The best country bread you’ve never heard of: Chris Sy’s levain.” I’m joking. There was no way I was going to be able to make the chef and his bread sound that good with my own words, so I encourage you to click the link above and enjoy her piece. I have mad respect for Martha’s work and it’s a great read.

On a slightly more serious note, here’s my take. If you enjoy sinking your teeth into a good piece of bread like I do, you need to give Chris’ country and city loaves a try. Some may argue that it’s ridiculous to pay $7.50 for a loaf, but those people just don’t get it.

This bread has a quality and character well worth the price and enjoyment. The texture (crunchy outside, chewy soft on the inside) and flavor (distinctly sourdough with a smoky finish from being baked in a kiawe wood fired oven) is like nothing I’ve had in Hawaii before. You can see and taste, passion, and pride Chris puts into his craft with every bite.

But don’t take my word for it, the fact that my kids – Ensen (5) and Avery (2) – prefer it over the regular sandwich bread you find in the grocery store is proof positive to me this stuff rocks. The delicious country loaf has become a staple in our kitchen Β and I have a feeling it will be in yours too after you try it.

So Β what does it look like and where can I buy this you ask?

20130221-220222.jpg

Each loaf is carefully wrapped and date stamped for freshness.

20130221-220317.jpg

Proof that good things come in white packages. The dark crust is not only beautiful, but packs a ton of flavor.

20130221-220253.jpg

Cutting into a city loaf. As you can see, the texture of the bread is light and airy. Absolutely delicious with or without butter or olive oil.

Breads by Breadshop are made in limited quantities, so follow Chris on Twitter to find out when and where he’s delivering during the week.

Breadshop
www.breadsbybreadshop.com
Stay in touch on TwitterΒ andΒ Instragram
Breads available at The Whole Ox Butcher and Deli and The Pig & The LadyΒ (various farmer’s markets)

-NGK

Comments
  1. Soos says:

    And it SMELLS as wonderful as it tastes!

Leave a Reply

