Tsukiji Fish Market = Delicious Buffet!

Posted: September 2, 2007 by Nathan Kam in Eating and Drinking, Hawaiian Islands, Oahu
Tags: ,

p1030516.jpg

In my last “Restaurant Ramblings” post, I confessed that I wasn’t a big fan of buffets. So what do we do this weekend with my mom in town? That’s right…we headed to Tsukiji Fish Market and Restaurant at Ala Moana Center to try its brunch BUFFET! To my credit though, it was my mom that really wanted to try this place. So off we went with the family, my mom Rhonda (sans my father who’s busy being “retired” on the Big Island working four side jobs…I’m still trying to figure that out), my sister Erin, and her boyfriend Craig.

The verdict? REALLY, REALLY GOOD! Tsukiji is a nice restaurant with a lot of space to spread out and navigate the buffet lines which feature Japanese, Chinese, Korean, and “local” fare. After being seated, I immediately headed for the sushi table which offered a nice assortment of ahi, salmon, hamachi, tamago (egg), ebi (shrimp), squid and an assortment of different rolls. All very fresh and very delicious. Check out the sushi station below.

p1030524.jpgp1030525.jpgp1030527.jpg

Moving down the line, a variety of hot entrees awaited and I must say all were very well done…everything from chop steak and loco moco, to delicious kalbi ribs and shrimp and vegetable tempura. There was also selection of yummy Japanese style vegetables to feast on like kinpira (gobo) and dikon. Check out my plate above.

p1030531.jpgp1030534.jpgp1030536.jpg

Mom and Erin digging in. Craig and Kelly enjoying loco moko and tempura. Ensen kicking back and enjoying the ambiance.

No buffet would be complete without dessert and Tsukiji had a nice assortment of cakes, fresh fruit, and SHAVE ICE!!! We all couldn’t resist a bowl of strawberry shave ice with condensed milk on the top. Simple…but delicious and just the right thing to end a wonderful meal.

p1030538.jpg

All in all, another awesome buffet experience. In fact, I think I’m starting to enjoy them more and more. Tsukiji does a great job all around…great food, friendly staff, and a nice, clean restaurant to enjoy a fabulous meal with the family. Whoevever is reading this blog, I highly recommend you give it a try. Sunday brunch is only $18.95 for adults! Enjoy!

Tsukiji Fish Market and Restaurant
808-237-5444
TsukijiFishMarket.com

-NGK

Comments
  1. […] don’t like buffets, Tsukiji is one of the better ones…as I previously wrote about in a prior blog post. That’s Ensen above playing with Kaena right before we […]

Leave a Reply

