It’s all about The Golf Channel!

Posted: October 19, 2007 by Nathan Kam in On The Job

p1050293.jpg
No. 17 (Par 3) at Wailua Golf Course.

One of the aspects of my job that I love is the diversity of projects I get to work on supervising the Hawaii Visitors and Convention Bureau (HVCB) account. One month it’s TOP CHEF, the next it’s a new fall campaign to entice visitors to the islands, and this month it’s working with The Golf Channel (TGC).

Being an avid “golf-a-holic” makes this project all the more fun. HVCB has been partnering with TGC over the past few years to bring the “Aloha Swing” to viewers across the country. This two-month promotion is tied to the PGA, Champions, and LPGA tour events that take place in Hawaii in January/February.

p1050317.jpgp1050311.jpgp1050351.jpg
From left: Wailua Golf Course manager Ed Okamoto with Scott Culbertson and Mike Yasutake. Scott and Mike filming hole No. 2 (Par 4) at Wailua Golf Course. Puakea’s Director of Golf Paul Ito with Mark Rolfing.

The assignment this month is to shoot a series of vignettes with TGC personality Stephanie Sparks across the islands showcasing “Hawaii’s Hidden Golf Adventures.” I had the opportunity to work with her a couple years ago on a similar project and glad to be doing so again this year. We’re taking a look at some of the “lesser known” courses and highlighting a hole at each which offers a real “golf adventure.” Mark Rolfing (a.k.a. Mr. Golf Hawaii) and the awesome production crew of Mike Yasutake (camera) and Scott Culbertson (audio) of Yasu Productions are also by my side to ensure everything looks great.

p1050356.jpgp1050334.jpgp1050350.jpg
From left: No. 12 (Par 5) at Puakea Golf Course. Stephanie Sparks on No. 16 (Par 4) at the Kauai Lagoons Kiele Course. Kauai Lagoon’s Director of Golf Scott Ashworth and Stephanie.

So far, we’ve been to Kauai…with Maui and Hawaii’s Big Island being completed by next week. Oahu courses will be completed in December when Stephanie returns. In case you’re wondering, here’s were we’re going:

KAUAI

MAUI

HAWAII’S BIG ISLAND

Be sure to tune into The Golf Channel in January. These vignettes will begin airing with the Mercedez-Benz Championship.

-NGK

Comments
  1. Nathan says:

    Aloha Kamako. I’ve contacted Scott C. and let him know you’re looking touch base with him. He should be following up with you shortly. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Komako Nagai says:

    I want to contact to Mr.Culbertson for work offer. What should I do? Please let me know or please tell him my e-mail address.Thank you so much. By the way I play golf. My family crazy about golf. I’m not much but Hawaii has many great course!

  3. golfnutn8 says:

    Mike, thanks for stopping by and for the corrections…I’ve made the changes. Happy Holidays.

  4. Mike Yasutake says:

    Hey Nathan,
    nice blog! Someone told me they saw this and that I looked great. They lied! Nice photos and article. One correction however, I do not work for Liquid Planet and the production company is myself and Scott. We just rent gear from them. Not that it matters…just thought I’d let you know.

    fudgecicle

Leave a Reply

