Boys and their toys!

Posted: November 9, 2007 by Nathan Kam in Random Raves & Rants

p1050781.jpg
E.T. + Speak ‘n Spell = some ancient and funny looking toys.

Everytime I return home to Kona to visit mom and dad, I can never resist the urge to tear into the boxes of toys that fill my old bedroom closet and reminisce about the past. He-Man, Transformers, G.I. Joe, and Star Wars are just some of the items that line the shelves. Throw in a couple thousand baseball cards, some Garbage Pail Kids, old Powell Perelta skateboard decks, and a few beers, and we’re talking about a fun night of exploration. Hey, it’s Kona…there’s really nothing else to do there after 8 p.m…

But the most interesting toys I found on our recent trip back to Hawaii’s Big Island were hidden in the busted-up, unmarked boxes that were just screaming my name. So like I always do, I answered the call. What did I find?

p1050772.jpg

Monster trucks were one of my favorite things to watch on TV. The thrill of watching massive trucks like Big Foot and Rolling Thunder speed around a dirt track and crushing cars was unreal to me. Now that I’m all grown up, I get to park next to one every day at home…we talked about our neighbor’s monster truck in a previous blog entry.

p1050778.jpgp1050779.jpg

Do these guys look familiar to you? If not, where have you been the last 20 years? I nearly fell off the bed when these guys greeted me in one box. Stay Puft Marshmallow Man from Ghostbusters, Yoda from Star Wars, Mr. T from the A Team, and good ‘ol E.T. and his Speak ‘n Spell looking pretty darn good after all these years. So good, they decided to pose for me in the picture on the right. I get the feeling Yoda doesn’t approve of E.T. caressing Marshmallow Man and Mr. T looks quite angry. Get over it Mr. T…it’s the 21st century! I pity the fool…

p1050774.jpg

M.U.S.C.L.E. men were a big deal back in the day. Looking at these disgusting, plastic “freaks of nature” now, I  only wonder to myself….WHY?

There’s a few more boxes in the closet that I didn’t have a chance to get around to. I can guarantee those will be throughly explored and blogged about the next time I visit Kona.

-NGK

Comments
  1. […] last time I went back home, I posted this blog about all the toys I had stored away at my parents house. Well come to find out, I had WAYYYYY more […]

  2. Angela says:

    OMG! If people knew you had this stuf… they’d be mobbing you to sell it on Ebay! Classic! I wish my Mother would have kept my boxes of “stuff”. I think I still have the classic LP’s of Casey Kasem’s American Top 40 from my first job as a radio DJ. LOVE reminiscing with the photos of your “stuff”.
    😉

  3. Kona Grandma says:

    I sure hope The Super Ferry stays alive long enough to make it to the Big Island. I can’t wait to load up the truck with Nathan’s closet full of toys and cards and deliver drop them off at his doorstep in Honolulu.

Leave a Reply

