Does life imitate art? NO WAY!

Posted: November 14, 2007 by Nathan Kam in Random Raves & Rants

p1050715.jpg

Parents don’t get nearly enough credit for all the things they have to put up with from their kids. Take me for example. On my trip back home to Kona a couple weeks ago, I came across some interesting art pieces created by yours truly. No wonder I ended up in public relations. Did my parents really deserve getting these “priceless” gifts for Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, and Thanksgiving (check out that paper mache turkey…chee hoo!).

Seriously, how many useless glazed clay bowls does one family need? Obviously from the photo above, one in yellow, a purple one with blue on the inside, and a hideous solid blue bowl with lightning bolt patterns. Did my teachers at Konawaena High School really think this was acceptable?

p1050718.jpg

But in all seriousness, all loved parents deserve to get a salisbury steak TV dinner complete with mashed potatoes, green peas, and brown gravy all over the top. Not to mention a side order of “igloo.” C’mon, what else do you give your parents for Valentine’s Day when you’re a kid? After all, don’t these pieces of “art” just scream “I love you mom and dad…thanks for everything?” I must have thought so…

Obviously, I was never going to be the next great Chinese-Korean American sculptor. My legacy as an artist will have to live with these gems.

Okay, so maybe I’m being too hard on myself. The truth is I can’t wait to see what kind of art Ensen brings home to mom and dad when he grows up. Whatever it is, I know we’ll love it. Just like my parents did.

-NGK

Leave a Reply

