Giving Anthony Bourdain freedom to explore Hawaii

Posted: February 26, 2008 by Nathan Kam in On The Job
Tags: , , , , , , ,

bourdain.jpg

After reading Anthony Bourdain’s blog tonight about his experience in Romania, my public relations career flashed before my eyes. What if he doesn”t like Hawaii? I honestly didn’t think it was a bad episode last night and thought it was rather funny. But it sounds like a lot of people were offended…mostly Romanians and those who have visited Romania according to Bourdain.

With the Hawaii episode of “No Reservations” up to bat next Monday, I remain optimistic the Aloha State will be represented fairly. I think it’s safe to say we can expect Bourdain to poke fun at the sterotypical side of Hawaii…luaus, umbrella drinks, and the like…it’s what he does in every destination! But that’s exactly why we didn’t force anything down his throat and merely suggested some unique, off-the-beaten-track experiences to his producers for him to engage in…otherwise known as everything outside of a typical guidebook. Understanding the show, there was no way you were going to find Bourdain in the predictable Hawaii tourist spots and that’s exactly what we wanted. The goal: to showcase a different side of Hawaii that many may not have known about.

And it’s always nice to have a second opinion. A story in the Honolulu Advertiser today shares some insight into local food writer David Choo’s time with Bourdain. According to Choo, “A lot of people are worried about how Hawaii and Spam will fare during the episode, but I think we’re going to do OK. The reason for my optimism is that he really liked the stuff. He at all his Spam musubi and then ate my leftovers.”

David’s comments are music to my ears and builds my confidence that I’ll still have a job at McNeil Wilson next Tuesday. 🙂

-NGK

Comments
  1. Hello,

    it is definately a good news that Kandell passed the CDs and its now being used efficiently, i recently started a blog on Hawaii,

    http://hawaiiblogging.com

    If you guys want to do some guest posts do let me know.

  2. kruz808 says:

    Hey Bobbie. It’s music taken from Don Tiki (http://www.dontiki.com/radio.html)

    The Other Side of the Moon – Don Tiki Adulterated – Ursula 1000

    Lloyd Kandell had passed on a few CDs to the producers so I’m glad that they put them to good use.

    Visit my blog for more on Bourdain – http://mikeni.wordpress.com

  3. Bobbie Smith says:

    I wonder if you can tell me the name and artist of the song that played while the credits rolled on the No Reservations Hawaii episode? Was it a Hawaiian artist?

Leave a Reply

