Ige’s Restaurant at last!

Posted: April 6, 2008 by Nathan Kam in Eating and Drinking, Hawaiian Islands, Oahu, Oahu, Travel
Tags: , , , ,


Ige’s famous Shoyu Pork is a winner! Soft, flavorful, and delicious!

I’ve heard a lot of good things about Ige’s Restaurant and 19th Puka in Aiea but never had the chance to eat there until this past weekend. Afterall, its catering service is legendary on the island. And let me tell you it was worth the wait! My parents were in town, so we picked up my Uncle Gerald (my dad’s brother) and headed out.

Kelly had been there before with her girlfriends and warned me that this place was probably not going to be what I expected. Not from a food point of view, but from an ambiance standpoint. And she was right. Upon entering the restaurant, I was immediately caught off guard by the size of the place. It is huge. I would describe Ige’s as the “Costco warehouse” version of Side Street Inn.


A few photos inside Ige’s with the family. That’s Uncle Gerald sitting next to Ensen in the photo on the right.

But let’s get down to what this place is all about. GREAT FOOD! And we certainly had our share that night along with some cold beers…and plenty of them. The look of the place may not win any awards, but the food is an entirely different story. A menu filled with “broke da mouth” local favorites perfect for any occasion. Not to mention the service there is attentive, speedy, and gracious.

I’ll stop rambling now and let the pictures of what we ate that night do the talking. If you’re looking for a great place for dinner with family and/or friends, Ige’s is the place.


The Crispy Pork, Fish Patties, and Fried Rice were all ono! No complaints here.


Ige’s Fresh Poke, Pulehu Steak, and Raw Sliced Tako with Miso Sauce were equally as tasty. All these dishes are a must order!


For the finale, we ordered the Bread Pudding with Ice Cream on the side which was super good! Then to our surprise, a generous order of Andagi came to the table (complimentary with the meal).

Ige’s Restaurant and 19th Puka
98-761 Oihana Place
808-486-3500

-NGK

Comments
  1. golfnutn8 says:

    Amanda, thanks for your kind comments and see that we agree that Ige’s is awesome! Looking forward to getting back there again soon. Any other recommendations besides what we ate that night?

  2. Amanda Reed says:

    Awesome blog! The pix are, as Melissa put it “just made my saliva glands go into overdrive.”
    (Girl, go the extra mile, you won’t regret it!!!)
    We had our grad party there, to this day, my cousins talk about the food….told ’em about the lunch hour window too, of course, they go there after a round of golf too, karaoke night etc.

  3. golfnutn8 says:

    Seeing is one thing, wait until you taste the food. Soooooo ono!! They take reservations too and they have lots of seats in there to accommodate a ton of people. I can’t wait to go back.

  4. Kalvin D Kahuna says:

    I just licked my computer screen….looks VERY good!

  5. Melissa says:

    Oh my GAWWD!!! I love Okinawan food and your photos just made my saliva glands go into overdrive. But anything past Moanalua is out in the boonies for me.
    😦

Leave a Reply

