Something Crazy Happened Yesterday

Posted: August 6, 2008 by Nathan Kam in On The Job
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Having worked in public relations the last 10 years, the odds of getting all four local TV news stations to cover a press conference for a soft news item is about as common as me getting into the ocean. It doesn’t happen very often. It’s not that we don’t know what we’re doing at McNeil Wilson Communications, but sometimes breaking news takes priority and reporters/cameras have to shift gears and go elsewhere.

So you can imagine how stoked I was when The Wyland Waikiki PR team was able to get all four stations (KHON2, KITV4, KGMB9, KHNL8) down to hotel for Wyland’s press conference. Sure he talked about his role as the Official Olympic Artist of this years games in Beijing, China. Sure he announced his next big public art project of 100 marine sculptures in 100 cities across the world over the next 25 years. Sure he painted a beautiful piece of art in front of everyone in minutes and donated it to Special Olympics Hawaii. But I’m still pinching myself that we got all four TV stations to cover the event. SWEET!

BTW, did I mention all this happened with less than 24 hours notice? Some may say we lucked out on a slow news day. I prefer to say I have a great team around me that knows how to get the job done. Kudos to my colleagues Michael Ni and Kimberly Miyashiro for the good work on this event. And to Wyland’s publicist Steve Creech in Los Angeles for tying up all the details so quickly. Mahalo!

I must confess that neither of the daily newspapers showed up, though the Honolulu Star-Bulletin did contact us for information and photos and ran this nice story today. But all in all, considering the circumstances, I’m calling this “mission accomplished.”

You can visit my Flickr page for more photos from yesterday’s event.

That’s life in PR for you and why I love the challenges of this profession. I’m sure my fellow flack and blogger friend Melissa Chang would agree.

-NGK

Comments
  1. 86Milan says:

    I see you don’t monetize your site, don’t waste your
    traffic, you can earn additional bucks every month because you’ve got hi
    quality content. If you want to know how to make extra money,
    search for: best adsense alternative Wrastain’s tools

  2. Melissa says:

    BTW is there anything of interest that Mari can write for the BIA magazine? It goes to the members of the BIA in Hawaii. I don’t know enough about the project to pitch it myself, but if you have some good details, I can tell Diane to make Mari write it.

  3. BuzzBunny says:

    Excellent job! I only wish I could get all media to attend my client’s events. You and your team rock!

  4. neko says:

    AWESOME job big Nate!

Leave a Reply

