A Social Media Luncheon Not To Miss!

Posted: August 20, 2008 by Nathan Kam in On The Job
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been a PRSA Hawaii member ever since I started my career in PR 10 years ago. We’ve had some great monthly professional development luncheon programs along the way, but I’ve got to say I’ve never seen demand for the one we have coming up next week Wednesday, August 27.

The program topic of social media itself is a hot one, but look at the lineup of speakers we’ve secured to present next week. It’s no wonder we already have 74 people registered for the luncheon. Are you in the know of Web 2.0 and will you be there for a great program?

Here’s some information I’ve taken from the PRSA Hawaii website:

Nadine Kam (@fashiontribe on Twitter and no relation to me though I do get a lot of her e-mails) is the style and travel editor at the Honolulu Star-Bulletin. She also writes the Fashion Tribe blog and is social media enthusiast like many of us.

Roxanne Darling (@roxannedarling on Twitter) is co-owner of Bare Feet Studios and has been working on the web since 1995. She is one of the original video podcasters and the star of the award-winning Internet TV show, Beach Walks with Rox (http://www.beachwalks.tv), which has over 650 episodes. She is also one of the lead organizers of PodCamp Hawaii which takes place in October.

Mary Fastenau is president and a co- founder of StarrTech Interactive, one of Hawaii’s largest interactive development companies. She frequently speaks at universities and professional organizations, making her one of Hawaii’s foremost experts on Internet marketing.

As senior online media planner, Dan Zelikman is the lead strategist for StarrTech Interactive on Web 2.0 ideas, online media purchasing, implementation, analysis, and optimization. Dan has worked on a wide range of accounts, including AIG Hawaii, Hawaiian Telcom, Marriott Hawaii and Bank of Hawaii. He’s also an avid surfer and all around good guy.

I look forward to seeing everyone at this event and we’re guaranteed to have some fun. Before I end, I need to give a shout out to my colleague Kristen Bonilla (@kwis10b on Twitter) for leading the effort to pull together this awesome program. I think it’s safe to say we’re “back in black” with this one.

-NGK

Comments
  1. Thanks for the shout Nathan. And I just started following Kristen too so mahalo for including her twitter name. I saw her tweet that we crunched 100 attendees – you have both done a great job of marketing this. I can hardly wait!

  2. kwis10b says:

    Aww shucks, thanks for the shout out, but you gotta take some credit for it too. You helped me flesh it out and turn it into the record-breaking event that it will be. I couldn’t have done it without you! Thanks much! BTW, I think it’s safe to say we’re at 85 now, give or take a few. There’s your latest update. =)

Leave a Reply

