How In The Hot Blogger World Did This Happen?

Posted: August 25, 2008 by Nathan Kam in Random Raves & Rants
Tags: , , , ,

I was surprised to wake up this morning to find this post on my pal Melissa Chang’s “Urban Mix Plate” blog on HonoluluAdvertiser.com. I had to pinch myself cuz I though I was still dreaming and asked myself “why in the world would anyone want to see yours truly in a calendar?” Let alone a HotBloggerCalendar! YOWSER! I’m actually there with two other Hawaii nominees that I know of – Melissa Chang and Christa Wittmier.

So just how did all of this happen? It’s my understanding that my colleague Amy Hennessey is behind these nominations. Why? For Melissa and Christa it’s pretty obvious. As for nominating me, I’m still scratching my head. She must have an axe to grind with me or something (just kidding Amy). Anyway, I’ve already warned her that payback is going to be a “mother.”

Looking at my competition, it seems I really don’t stand a chance against guys like PR adventurist Peter Shankman and social media master Chris Brogan if we’re being voted on intellect, content, and good looks. But if it’s all about a proud father blogging about his family, the cutest 14-month-old boy on Earth, and life in Hawaii, I’d say I got a pretty damn good chance.

If for some crazy reason you want to vote for Melissa, Christa, or me, you can do so by visiting HotBloggerCalendar.com. Who knows, I could just be the first Mr. August. In the grander scheme of things, as long as Kelly and my mom vote for me, I’m happy! 😉

-NGK

Comments
  1. golfnutn8 says:

    Melissa: Of course my mom thinks I look like the Asian Brad Pitt, but he would never be in a contest like this. LOL!

    CW: May the best Hawaii Tweep win!

    Mom: I hope you voted for me and not Peter Shankman. I am your son. 😉

  2. Melissa says:

    OMG your own mom thought it was a joke! I thought all moms think their sons look like Matthew McConnaughey. hahahaaaa

  3. Kona Grandma says:

    I thought it was a joke when I saw your name mentioned in Urban Mixed Plate this morning. I immediately checked out the website but was unable to navigate to the voting page. If, by chance, you do win, your photo will have to include Ensen.

  4. Melissa says:

    It’s not just about looks (although come ON, you’re hotter than Peter Shankman!).

    Q: What if someone doesn’t post photos of him/herself? How will I know if he/she should get my vote?
    A: We’re hoping that people are going to be thinking beyond skin deep here and looking at other qualities that make someone “hot”… like a person’s wit, intelligence, writing, etc. In other words, the reason you go back to their blog to keep reading. If someone makes the final cut and really truly does not want his/her face shown, I guess we can work around it, but we’re hoping it doesn’t come to that. We’d like to get the “hot” bloggers out from behind their computer screens.

Leave a Reply

