Hawaii Quarter Launches Nov. 10! Want One?

Posted: November 6, 2008 by Nathan Kam in Hawaiian Islands, Random Raves & Rants
Tags: , , , ,
2008hawaiiunc

The reverse of Hawaii’s quarter features Hawaiian monarch King Kamehameha I stretching his hand toward the eight major Hawaiian Islands. Inscriptions are the state motto "UA MAU KE EA O KA ‘ĀINA I KA PONO," ("The life of the land is perpetuated in righteousness"), "Hawaii" and "1959." Source: United States Mint

I’m no coin collector by any stretch of the imagination, although my co-workers might argue that if you look in my desk drawer, you’ll find a completely different scenario. Okay, so I have about $25 in loose change in there. What’s the big deal?

But on Monday, November 10, I’m planning to become a coin collector for a day and that’s because the Hawaii quarter will be officially launched at Bishop Square in downtown Honolulu at noon. According to a press release issued by the United States Mint:

The Hawaii commemorative quarter-dollar will be the final coin produced in the United States Mint’s 50 State Quarters® Program, the most successful coin program in U.S. history.  An estimated 147 million people collect the quarters in this popular series. United States Mint Director Ed Moy will join Governor Linda Lingle in handing out shiny new Hawaii quarters to children under 18 who attend the launch.  This lunchtime event is free to the public. After the ceremony, featuring a keiki (children’s) hula performance and Hawaiian music, the public may exchange bills for $10 rolls of Hawaii quarters at the event.  Banks across Hawaii will also have the new quarters available that afternoon.

If any of my blog, Facebook, LinkedIn, or Twitter followers are anxious to get their hands on a Hawaii quarter, connect with me. I’m planning to purchase a few rolls and would be glad to see what I can do to get a quarter to you. Here’s how I’m thinking we can do this:

  • Mail a quarter and a self-addressed stamped envelope to me and I’ll put a Hawaii quarter in the mail back to you.
  • My work address is: McNeil Wilson Communications, 1003 Bishop Street, 9th Floor, Honolulu, HI 96813

If you plan to be at the ceremony on Monday, I’ll look forward to seeing you there!

-NGK

Comments
  1. […] Coins are not allowed to be placed in your ears in Hawaii. Image: Hawaii Quarter Launches Nov. 10! Want One? « Kam Family Blog. […]

  2. Marlene Champion says:

    Is your offer still good for the Hawii quarter. Just viewed you Blog today 2-01-09. Thanks

Leave a Reply

