VIDEO: Lightning dances across Oahu skies

Posted: December 27, 2008 by Nathan Kam in Hawaiian Islands, Oahu, Random Raves & Rants
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

A thunder storm rocked Oahu last night and knocked the power out across the island around 7 p.m. But just before the outage occurred, I set my Flip Mino on our lanai and aimed it north into the night’s sky. I was able to capture some of the amazing lightning show that entertained us before we sat around in the dark. I’ve condensed it down to a minute and half. Check it out!

Hawaii blogger Ryan Ozawa managed to get a post up on his site during the outage with details about the situation. With only a radio and my iPhone to keep up-to-speed on things, it was fun to follow the updates on Twitter. Reports from folks around the island were steady and easily trackable with the “hashtag” #hipower suggested by Ryan. I’m glad to report the power finally came back on in Salt Lake around 7 a.m. Time to shower.

-NGK

Bookmark and Share

Comments
  1. Otilia says:

    Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an
    established blog. Is it very hard to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about setting
    up my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Appreciate it

  2. Tino says:

    great vid, dude. wish I had a great a view as you guys do!

  3. […] all have probably heard by now, last night was a pretty un-electric night. A night filled with a marvelous display of power in the skies and a lacking display of power in the hale. In short a complete blackout on the entire […]

  4. Kris says:

    Nice shooting. Leave it to these fun little gadgets (and battery power) to keep us entertained during times like that.

    The last flash of lightning at the end there was my favorite.

  5. Cool Oahu lightning images. Bet the inventors of twitter had no idea that island folks would feel connected w/ iPhones & Twitter during lightning storms.
    http://twitter.com/Nancydbrown

  6. Ryan says:

    Great video! And thanks for the mention. Glad for citizen journalism and “new media.”

Leave a Reply

