Incredible Journey!

Posted: March 27, 2009 by Nathan Kam in Family & Friends, Random Raves & Rants
Tags: , , , , , , ,

journey1

Despite my love for music, I rarely go to concerts. I’m still kicking myself inside for passing up the chance to see Metallica (my favorite metal band of all time) perform in Honolulu YEARS ago! But when my pal Regan invited me to go and see Journey in concert at the Neal Blaisdell Arena on Wednesday, I couldn’t pass it up. I’m a little tardy with this post, as evidenced by the fact that my friends Jason Genegabus (also here and here) and Shawn Nakamoto who where there too that night, got their blogs updated almost immediately. But better late than never, right?

I’ll be the first to admit I’m not a die hard Journey fan. I even joked with Kelly that I wouldn’t know more than two or three songs. Well I’m glad I was wrong. I actually knew a lot more than I thought…I just never knew who sang the songs growing up. I know, shame! But as the night went on and we rocked our hearts out from Section 3, Row J, I realized a few other things that really made the night and experience exceptional:

  • I knew more Journey songs than I gave myself credit for. Hello! “Faithfully,” “Who’s Crying Now,” “Open Arms,” “Don’t Stop Believing,” “Wheel in the Sky,” and “Lights“…DUH! All familiar to me and to everyone else in the arena. These are old classics that I’ll never get tired of hearing on the radio or on my iPod.
  • There’s nothing like listening to a band live. Just like sports, seeing a band perform live and in person is kind of surreal. Journey was incredible all night long playing for over two hours straight (including giving two “hana hou” or encores). They were tight and didn’t miss a beat. Not only was seeing them perform a rush, but to feed off the energy from those sitting all around you only enhances the experience. While $65 or $125 may seem like a lot to spend on a concert, it’s really the TOTAL experience you’re paying for which you’ll never be able to replicate watching a performance on TV.
  • Arnel Pineda can sing. My friend Shawn said on her blog that “nobody can replace Steve Perry in her book.” It’s true, but like she admits Arnel sure came close. The story about how Journey discovered him on YouTube is a great one and a real sign of our times. Arnel can sing with the best of them and his stage pressence shouldn’t be overlooked either. He was a fireball of energy all night long, running from one side of the stage to the other, engaging the crowd with hand slaps and acknowledgements to the crowd, and jumping up and down. I was exhasted just watching him do this thing. He’s a great entertainer and look for the band.
  • Sharing the experience with others on Twitter. There was no shortage of Twitter folks in the crowd the night I was there including myself. It was really fun to periodically check in to see the concert updates being posted to see how others were feeling about their experiences there. Folks like @hawaii, @sonecessary, @crystalakana, and @hulamom were all contributing to the commentary throughout the night (which you can see here). Twitter enabled friends to connect with eachother sitting in different sections and share the experience together…and with those at home who weren’t there. Pretty cool!

So all in all, I’ve been bitten by the concert bug! Did you get to see the show? What did you think? I can’t wait for the next concert to roll into town. And BTW, if you can help get Metallica to Hawaii soon, I’ll pay for your ticket to see the show! 😉

-NGK

Bookmark and Share

Comments
  1. Lyanne says:

    Hey Nate!
    I bet that Journey concert was good, but I have to tell you, you sure missed out on that Metallica concert years ago!! I still have my T-shirt!

  2. Elcans says:

    Truly indeed Arnel Pineda is amazing. I watched Journey concert here in Manila and it was taped for DVD released soon

  3. Hey Nathan,
    Great post! I think I’m still in Journey heaven. I’ve been listening to their greatest hits all week! You are so right about being part of the “experience” because it’s just not the same seeing them on TV or YouTube. Even Micah thought it was great fun and can’t wait to go to his next concert. We’ll have to keep our ears open for the next great rock band coming to town. Save your money!

Leave a Reply

