l_1600_1200_4F2196D6-AA19-46E0-8A9E-198E82CBCB34.jpeg

Ensen multi-tasking on email and TweetDeck. Oh yeah, behind those screens he’s also drafting a Word document, editing video, and streaming music on Blip.fm. Not to mention, he’s watching Barney and Friends on PBS.

Without much effort from us, Ensen has become quite good at using a computer as he approaches 2-years-old. He loves to type, knows what the mouse is for and enjoys clicking it all over the screen, is always up for watching videos online, and always wants to look at our family photos on iPhoto. It’s incredible to me on so many levels how much he knows at such a young age.

Some might argue that he’s merely imitating his mommy and daddy. I’m not going to dispute the fact that we spend a good amount of time on the computer each day. But since we’ve not really given Ensen any “formal” technology training, I’m starting to think that kids in this day and age are born “wired” and ready to “plug and play” in the digital world. Like it’s now part of human DNA. Part of the evolution of human beings to come out of the gate inherently knowing what a computer is, how the Internet works, and so on for survival. Afterall, the kid could figure out how to unlock and entertain himself with my iPhone at 18-months-old.

img_0043

Whatever you call it, it’s been a wonderful experience so far raising a child and watching them grow in a digital world. Technology has enabled us to share these memorable times with my parents who live on the Big Island and other family and friends across the world via this blog, live video streaming, and social networking sites like Flickr and Twitter. Video chat has enabled me to stay connected visually FOR FREE with Kelly and Ensen when I’m traveling on business. Good stuff.

It humors me to know our son will find things that were essential during our time, like dial-up, floppy disks, and 3G, absolutely useless when he gets older. I can only sum it up this way…

We truly live in an incredible world!

It’s true and we should take time every day to appreciate this fact. And speaking of incredible, this gut-busting clip of Louis CK on Late Night with Conan O’Brien titled “Everything is amazing…nobody is happy” is a great example of just how extraordinary the 21st century as been. It also illustrates how we as a society take technology and brilliant innovation for granted. I need to thank technology and leadership speaker Scott Klososky for showing this during his social media presentation at the Travel Weekly Forums last week.

After watching this, it really made me stop and think about how I (and my fellow consumers) behave in this technologically advanced state of life. These are remarkable times we’re living in which are only going to get more and more amazing. As fast as things move forward, it’s good to look back into the past and reflect on how far we’ve come to put things in perspective.

I’ve heard time and time again that if you want to know what the future holds or what it may look like, ask you children. While Ensen may be a little too young right now to answer, he’s given us a glance of what the face of the digital future looks like and I’ve got to say it’s pretty exciting…and handsome (that’s just proud daddy talk). 😉

-NGK

Bookmark and Share

Comments
  1. Melissa says:

    Cute! I bet he’ll have his own iPhone by the time he goes off to Kindergarten!

    Love the video, BTW! Trying to think of how to talk about it on my blog.

  2. Keahi Pelayo says:

    Nice to see he is on a Mac. Great job!
    Aloha,
    Keahi

  3. Tino says:

    I actually shoo my 3 yr old daughter away from my computer, but only because I need to use it so much. She loves to imitate, though, by setting an open book on her lap as her MacBook Pro.

    She loves watching videos and looking at photos, as well. I’d rather her not get into Photoshop and InDesign yet. I want her to develop her artistic abilities more organically. 😉

  4. Damon Tucker says:

    I blogged about my son and technology not to long ago:

    http://damontucker.com/2009/03/29/technology-and-children-when-is-it-too-young/

    I say the earlier the better. The same with most of the people who commented on it.

  5. A Maui Blog says:

    I totally get what you are saying. And you are right to be a proud daddy. Ensen is a smart kid.

    Here’s another face of the digital future:

    http://www.lizas-eyeview.com/2009/01/weekly-winner-avid-reader-of-lizas.html

    Aloha!

Leave a Reply

