What happens on the USS Nimitz…gets blogged!

Posted: August 11, 2009 by Nathan Kam in Adventure, Hawaiian Islands, Oahu, Random Raves & Rants
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’m going to be straight with you. The words I’m about to blog here over the next few weeks about my overnight embark on the USS Nimitz (August 9-10) likely won’t do the entire experience justice. It’s one of those things in life you have to do personally to fully appreciate it. But I’ll do my best in sharing just how amazing the opportunity I relished with 15 other distinguished visitors (DVs) really was.

But before I get there, there’s something called reality and work that I need to tend to first. No  more “cheat posts” after this one. Promise! I’ve posted above the complete welcome our group received by Capt. Michael Manazir shortly after we landed  on the carrier. In the video above he explains how we “boltered” on our landing (missed the arresting cable) and what has ahead over the next 20 or so hours. After meeting the Captain and hearing him talk, I knew this would be the trip of a lifetime.

IMG_0149

Our Distinguished Visitor group consisted of a variety of different folks from all sectors of the community. A couple educators, a realtor, a dentist, a couple of PR pros, a video production team, a techie, and others. It was great to share this experience with them!

Lots more to come about my time on the ship from beginning to end. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy the photos I took and posted to Flickr yesterday. If that’s not enough, my blog-mate on this journey Burt Lum also posted photos he took to his Flickr page as well, and fellow bloggers Roxanne Darling and Melissa Chang – who completed the same embark a day before us – have already been busy posting to their respective sites/blogs. Check them out!

I’ll be back later this week with another update. For now, please turn your attention to Capt. Manazir.

-NGK

Bookmark and Share

Comments
  1. abhi says:

    really agreed with nathan, so much to tell.
    capyain’s DV said well: I’m still trying to organize all of my thoughts, feelings, and emotions in to blogs that make sense and it makes sense

  2. Melissa says:

    Funny how it takes several blog posts to capture what we all experienced….and that STILL only touches the tip of the iceberg!

    When I first heard that you guys boltered, I cringed. What did that feel like, anyway?

    • Nathan says:

      You said that well. I’m still trying to organize all of my thoughts, feelings, and emotions in to blogs that make sense. 😉 So much to tell.

      It was quite an experience to “bolter.” It didn’t feel like much but hitting the runway, then accelerating off the back of the carrier. Most of the fun was just the anticipation of experiencing something you’ve never felt before. The catapult was pretty freaking awesome too, yeah?

Leave a Reply

