I’ve had the great opportunity of volunteering my time to assist the Japanese Cultural Center of Hawaii (JCCH) this year with its upcoming Celebration of Leadership Dinner (CLAD) on Oct. 3 at Manoa Grand Ballroom. How did the Chinese-Korean guy get tapped to do the pro-bono public relations for this Japanese organization? Your guess is as good as mine, but I believe I have my friend Ian Kitajima to thank for this one. And Kelly is half Japanese so I qualify to represent though marriage. 😉

It’s been a rewarding experience meeting this year’s CLAD honorees, which everyone in Hawaii knows: DejaVu Surf Hawaii/M. Miura Store on Kauai; Diamond Bakery and Marions Catering/Dots Restaurant on Oahu; Tasaka Guri Guri on Maui; and KTA Super Stores on the Big Island. All of these companies are deserving of the accolades they will receive next month. They have stood the test of time, stared adversity straight in the face, and persevered to become business role models in each of their communities. Given today’s economic situation, I believe there’s a lot we can learn from their success stories!

But don’t take my word for it. These teasers from the honoree video that will be shown at the dinner should help prove my point. Kudos to Ryan Kawamoto for producing these inspirational and insightful stories.

JCCH President Lenny Yajima Andrew and her staff have been hard at work putting together this annual fundraising event, along with CLAD co-chair Lisa Shozuya and Mark Yamada. A big mahalo to Special Events Coordinator Waynele Yu and PR/Membership Director Marisa Takahashi for their support as well.

Unfortunately, I will not be able to attend this year’s event because of a prior work engagement, but hope those in Hawaii who appreciate outstanding business and community leadership will attend and join JCCH in honoring these worthy organizations.

GANBARE!

-NGK

BTW, if you’re a Facebook user, you can find JCCH and CLAD there too!

Bookmark and Share

Comments
  1. hawaiian says:

    “I will not be able to attend this year’s event because of a prior work engagement,” what is it?

  2. I like your blog! I just moved from CA to Boston for grad school. But my mom is from Honolulu- so Manoa Valley is my second home. I’m missing the islands, and am excited to read more of your blog. thanks!

  3. Damon says:

    KTA… Another thing I love about the Big Island!

    I heard the downtown one is looking at some renovations or something like that.

Leave a Reply

