Dream of opening for Bon Jovi will become reality for two Hawaii bands

Posted: January 18, 2010 by Nathan Kam in Random Raves & Rants
Tags: , , , , ,


Photo courtesy of AEG Live

I received a press release from my PR friend Tracy Larrua last week announcing the “Opening Act Contest” for Bon Jovi’s concerts in Honolulu next month and immediately though what a freaking amazing, once-in-a-lifetime opportunity this is going to be for two local bands. Then I thought about my intermediate and early high school days and how I would have died for an opportunity like this. Why? Well…the photo below will give you a hint.

Yes, it’s true. I was a punk/metal headbanger in my younger years (only my closest friends and family know this) and played bass in a couple of bands. How cool would it have been to open for a legendary group like Bon Jovi? I can only imagine. Thanks to the magic of Facebook, I’ve actually been able to locate two of my three former band mates. Ahhh, the good ‘ol days of making noise all over Kailua-Kona – playing in garages, at beach parks, and at school assemblies – as the group formerly known as Insomnia. Sure we were a cover band, but we rocked the hell out of Metallica, Cream, Jimi Hendrix, Guns ‘n Roses, Led Zepplin, Black Sabbath Bon Jovi, and many others. But I digress…

The real reason for this post is the fact that two Hawaii bands will have the opportunity to open for Bon Jovi on February 11 and 12. That is awesome and truly an opportunity of a lifetime! According to the aforementioned press release I received from Tracy:

The “Opening Act Contest” is open to all bands in Hawaii. To enter, each band must submit a bio describing the band and their music, along with a CD containing one song no longer than three minutes, and their contact information (name, address, phone number and email) to:  Tom Moffatt Productions, 1232 Waimanu Street, Penthouse, Honolulu, HI 96814. The deadline for receiving submissions is Monday, January 25, 2010.

From the pool of entries, 20 semi-finalists will be selected to send in a video (via YouTube link) for review by a “blue ribbon panel” of local celebrity judges.  The top five finalists will be chosen from the 20 semi-finalists, and will have a clip of their video featured on KHON-TV’s “Wake Up 2Day” morning show during the week of February 1, 2009.

On Monday, February 8, 2010, the top five band finalists will be featured live in-studio as part of KHON-TV’s “Wake Up 2Day” show, where the two winners will be announced.  A clip of the two winning bands’ videos will be shared on the air, and both bands will be interviewed.

I thought about using this opportunity to lobby for an Insomnia reunion (what do you say Leila, Dylan, and Dayna?), but quickly came to the realization that my rock ‘n roll and heavy metal playing days my be long gone.  I’ll stick to what I do best nowadays and listen to the music. 🙂 Good luck to all the awesome Hawaii bands out there and I’m looking forward to seeing the winning group and Bon Jovi live at the Blaisdell Arena on February 11.

Tickets for the Bon Jovi concerts can be purchased at the Blaisdell Box Office, all Ticketmaster locations, via Ticketmaster charge-by-phone at 1-800-745-3000, Ticketmaster Express at 866-448-7849 (automated only self service line) or online at Ticketmaster.com. Tickets are subject to applicable service charges and event time and date are subject to change. Log on to www.bonjovi.com for the most up to date concert and ticket on-sale information.

-NGK

Bookmark and Share

Comments
  1. Oh man what an amazing opportunity! The MegaDeth T shirt is good taste as well 😉

  2. Sandy says:

    Hahaha, what was that other name you had?…………..

  3. Charlene Yoshimura (fka: Charlene Gaoiran says:

    Nathan, I saw your comment on Leila’s Facebook. Remember me? Leila’s Mom?

    Wow, you look different….but we all change as we grow older, eh?! hahaha!

  4. Damon says:

    Nathan Kam the “Punk/Metal Headbanger”???

    Dude I think I just woke up from a weird dream!

Leave a Reply

