Do you like your steak crispy too?

Posted: May 22, 2010 by Nathan Kam in Eating and Drinking, Hawaiian Islands, Oahu, Random Raves & Rants

Ensen's always happy to share this Chyler's!

Like that Foo Fighters song, I have a confession to make. I’m addicted to CHYLER’S BEEF CHIPS! I’m talking seriously addicted. And I fear my family is too, including Kelly and Ensen. If you’ve ever seen us with a bag of this crispy, meaty goodness, you’d think we hadn’t eaten in days. It’s the beef form of bacon and a force to be reckoned with. HELP!

Thin, crisp, flavorful, and delicious!

How did this addiction start? Like any other. I made the mistake of giving into peer pressure from friends. A couple years ago while at the famous Side Street Inn, I was enjoying pau hana with some fellow public relations colleagues. I believe it was PR guru Shawn Nakamoto who suggested we order the beef chips as pupu as she had it before and really enjoyed it. Of course, social media maven Melissa Chang who was there with us, didn’t stop her. So there it was, a 2 oz. bag of mild beef chips on the table. I love steak (heck any kind of beef) and beef jerky so this was something I was really looking forward to. I reached to grab one of these thin, delicate, and perfectly seasoned pieced of dried meat and popped it in my mouth. Heaven! The rest is history.

Chyler's mild beef chips in the 3 oz. bag.

If you love beef and beef jerky, you’ll probably like these chips too. Think crispy bacon…except it crispy steak! It’s a very clever and delicious snack. It comes in different flavors – wasabi, furikake, peppered, and mild – and sizes. Our favorite is the mild. Getting it is somewhat difficult though. It’s only sold at Side Street Inn and at select food expos. We happened to find it being sold in the 3 oz. packages above at the New Baby Expo last weekend. You can also order it online via the Chyler’s Beef Chips website. It is on the pricey side, but oh so worth it!

Have you tried Chyler’s? What do you think? If you have suggestions on other interesting beef snacks out there, I’d love to hear about them.

-NGK

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

