Advice on ‘practical’ gift giving

Posted: December 16, 2010 by Nathan Kam in Random Raves & Rants
Tags: , , , , ,

Credit: everydaypeoplecartoons.com

To quickly answer the headline of this blog…don’t do it.

So here’s the deal. A couple weeks ago I was approached by Nonstop Honolulu writer Catherine Toth to write a guest post about a memorable shopping experience for their site. “You want me to what? I hate shopping,” I believe is what I told her. But after a little convincing that it was more about the shopping experience versus shopping deals, I figure I’d give it a try.

On the site today you’ll find my post titled “Think twice before giving a ‘practical’ gift” which will hopefully inspire others to not make the same gift-giving mistakes I have in the past. Looking back now, giving Kelly that Hangaway for her birthday definitely was a lame idea.

So if you have time, please check out the post and let me know what you think. Have you given a gift you wish you could take back? There is that saying “it’s better to give then to receive,” but I have a feeling that’s only if you’re giving a “good” gift. 🙂

Happy holidays and happy shopping!

-NGK

Bookmark and Share

Comments
  1. I totally agree with you, Amin. Merry Christmas!

  2. Amin says:

    I really enjoyed this piece! 🙂 I don’t see it much as a gift giving mistake, as you say. You value the practical and useful. That is a very good quality. The spirit of gratitude and thankfulness is in the heart of the giving at Christmas. This quality seems the be lost with the times. We seem to be more concerned these days about if the gifts that excite us rather than just being grateful (from which Christmas stems from). I suggest a piece on the meaning of Christmas! Now that is something to ponder. 🙂 Merry Christmas my friend. You’re thoughts sparked inquisitiveness my own gift giving this year.

Leave a Reply

