Quick Thoughts on Oceanic Mobile’s 4G Internet

Posted: February 10, 2011 by Nathan Kam in Random Raves & Rants
Tags: , , , , ,

When my friend Ed Sugimoto asked if I’d be interested in test driving Oceanic’s Mobile internet service on its 4G network, my immediate response was “I’d love to, but I’m a long time Hawaiian Telcom DSL customer. Can I do that?” He confidently reassured me that it would be fine, that he’d appreciated my feedback on the experience, and that I’d probably enjoy the mobility of the service. So I graciously accepted this free trial and challenged Ed to hit me with his best shot.

Well, in just 24 hours of using the mobile internet service at various locations around Honolulu, I have to say I’m really liking the experience. So much so, that I wrote this blog post on my MacBook Pro from my car in the Magic Island/Ala Moana Beach Park parking lot today (see photo above).

In the few hours I’ve been playing around with Oceanic Mobile, here’s the things I’m like so far:

  • IT’S FAST! The 4G connectivity is really quick. Streaming from Hulu and watching YouTube videos is no problem. Surfing the web and posting blogs is efficient and fast.
  • IT’S CONVENIENT! The fact that you’re always connected to the internet is pretty awesome. I love my iPhone and the web experience available there. But being able to fire up your laptop and get to work wherever you may be is pretty awesome. I can get used to this.
  • SOLID COVERAGE! Okay, so I’ve only used it at about four locations around Honolulu so far, but the connectivity has been great. I’ve had no issues getting on the 4G network from downtown Honolulu, Nico’s at Pier 38, Ala Wai Golf Course, and here at Magic Island.

I plan to do a more comprehensive wrap-up once my trial is over. For now, you can follow Oceanic’s andhere.com blog to see where I’m using the service and where other testers like me are staying connected.

Finally, a quick question to you. Are you using any mobile internet services? If so, which one and how do you like them?

-NGK

Comments
  1. Ben says:

    Hi Nathan,

    My name is Ben and I’m working with the Weather Channel to help spread the word about their new outdoor photography show, “From the Edge with Peter Lik.” The first episode airs tomorrow night at 9pm and is all about photographing volcanoes in Hawaii. I came across your wonderful blog and I thought you might be interested in doing a post to let your readers know about the show and help spread the awareness.

    Any posts that you put up will go up on The Weather Channel’s From the Edge Facebook Page and/or their twitter page- so it is a good way to get some publicity for your own site. Also, if you post and provide me with your Facebook and Twitter handle info, TWC will like your fan page as well as follow you on Twitter. I also have a copy of Lik’s ‘Spirit of America Book’ which I could offer out to you for your time.

    I’ve put some info about the show, pics, and videos from the first episode below just to give you some background. If you have any questions or need more information please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

    Thanks for your time and let me know if you are interested as it would be so great to have your help.

    Best,

    Ben

    The Weather Channel is launching a new reality TV show, “From the Edge with Peter Lik,” focusing on scenic outdoor photography. The show will follow Peter Lik, an Australian landscape photographer as he travels to places where weather continues to have a unique impact on the landscape. Every week, Lik will attempt to capture the essence of Mother Nature through his lens with his unique perspective, style, and skill. Throughout the thirteen episodes, Peter will photograph stunning landscapes across Hawaii, Alaska, Death Valley, Utah and other hidden gems off the map. We’ll see all his photographs and techniques along the way as he overcomes weather-related obstacles to find “the perfect shot.”

    Premiere Date: March 31, 8pm, The Weather Channel, 13 episodes
    Homepage: http://weather.com/peterlik
    Slideshow (embed code available): http://t.co/gk84hAf
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/#!/TWCFromtheEdge
    Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/TWCFromtheEdge

    Video: Peter goes after Pele – goddess of fire… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c6iC26lunyY&feature=channel_video_title

    Embed Code:

    Video: Peter flies to volcanos edge…

    Embed Code:

  2. Ryan says:

    I’m glad to hear your initial experience was positive, and look forward to an update after more robust testing. I’ve heard, at best, mixed reviews of the Intelligo 3G/4G hardware, but maybe the Motorola USB stick is more solid.

Leave a Reply

