Now Growing: Beets

Posted: July 10, 2012 by Nathan Kam in Home Garden
Tags: , ,

20120710-173155.jpg

Beets are probably my favorite vegetable in the world. And I grew to love them after eating a fresh beet salad at Pahu’ia at the Four Season Hualalai on Hawaii Island years ago. It was nothing like the canned stuff that scares most folks and simply amazing!

Since then, whenever I see beets on a restaurant menu, it’s an automatic to order them. So when I started this home gardening thing last year, beets were one of the first things I threw in the ground. To my surprise, they did quite well in our Pearl City soil (first harvest shown below) and I’m now on the second planting (shown above).

20120710-174604.jpg

They need time to mature, but the 2.5 month cycle is worth the wait. My favorite is roasting them in the oven with a little olive oil, salt and pepper. Simple, but broke da mout!

What’s thriving in your garden at the moment?

Thanks for stopping by and reading!

Leave a Reply

