A new blogging journey begins with HONOLULU Family

Posted: August 1, 2012 by Nathan Kam in Random Raves & Rants
Tags: , ,

So what the heck does a guy who enjoys pork belly, a good steak, chocolate, and a cold beer know about good health? That’s a legitimate question and one I asked myself as I was invited to join the HONOLULU Family team of bloggers a couple weeks ago. What could I really bring to the table? What could I share that other families would care about? Afterall, I’m not a gym rat, not as athletic as I once was in high school and college, and not nearly as active outdoors as one who lives in Hawaii should be.

But all of that aside, and after consulting Kelly and some friends, I decided to accept the challenge of writing the weekly Good Health blog for the magazine’s website. Why? After really thinking about it, good health has many different meanings. It not only has to do with eating smart and physical activity, but also mental and emotional well-being. All things that we as a young family are dealing with and striving to get better at on a daily basis.

Going back to the original question, “what the heck do I know about good health?” Well, you’ll have to read along each week to find out. I’ll be sharing personal stories and experiences about our home garden, eating sensibly, keeping the kids (and ourselves) active and mentally stimulated, and practicing good hygiene to name a few things. I’ll also be reaching out to family and friends and interviewing them about their tips and best practices for all things related to good health.

Needless to say, I’m excited and humbled to have this opportunity. But even more excited for the chance to learn from others along the way on this journey. I appreciate your honest feedback offline, comments online, and support!

Here we go!

Comments
  1. […] blogs like this and this and this (oh yeah, I could go on and on and on…).  Maybe I […]

Leave a Reply

